top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Jakubowski

The Bodybuilding Competition that wasn't to be ...

I started off this year with a strong determination to enter my first ever physique (natural bodybuilding) competition. This comps are held each year by different federations throughout the country. As a personal trainer, I was already training and eating well, but to prepare for these shows you have to take it to another level.


As i don't take steroids, I am considered a 'natural' bodybuilder, so I signed up with the federation UKDFBA for their southern counties show in Camberley in August. I hired a coach and began to 'prep' 20 weeks before in March.


The 'prep' phase of a show lasts between 12-20 weeks depending how much fat you have to lose. The more muscle you have and the less fat you have the less time you need to get ready for the stage.


As the weeks progress, you have a 'checkin' each week where you report to you coach your weight, measurements and pictures and the coach gradually reduces your calorie intake and increase your calorie expenditure. It is done gradually to prevent loss of muscle mass (no 'crash diets' here) and you continue to train heavy and eat plenty of protein.


I was enjoying the process until the show was postponed for 6 weeks, until September 20. This was, of course, a COVID related delay. This was annoying as it meant dieting for another 6 weeks. I took a few weeks off from the diet and took my calories back up, before reducing them down again. Your body cannot sustain itself for too long in a caloric deficit until it starts using muscle as fuel, which we don't want as we have worked hard for that muscle!!


So I started again, and was super excited. Feeling myself getting leaner. I paid a deposit to get a beautiful bikini hand made (they are bloody expensive!) and booked my tan and makeup for the show day (again bloody expensive!)


Then I was devastated when I received an email in July (a few weeks out) that the show was to be postponed again until 17 October. This date wasn't possible for me as I was supposed to be on a family holiday to Spain, but also I knew I wouldn't have the willpower to diet for the extra 4 weeks after the show was supposed to happen. So I made the heartbreaking decision to pull out for this year and start all over again next year.


All the money invested in my coach, the bikini, tan, makeup and all the dieting and work for nothing!


As this year has gone on I have seen many more shows delayed and cancelled and so many athletes bitterly disappointed. Although this weekend the PCA federation put on an amazing show in Birmingham and there was also a championship show in Alicante, Spain, which both featured some incredible athletes. Seeing the pictures just makes me more determined to continue building my physique, and then prep again for a show in either 2021 or even 2022!!


It is an extreme sport and its in no way easy being in either phase (building or dieting) but the continual progression and thrill in seeing yourself become fitter strong and better is addictive!!!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page