top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Jakubowski

When Something Isn't Meant For You...

Sometimes we have a dogged approach to getting what we think we want. We chase it and chase it until we either get it, and realise it is not for us, or have to admit defeat and later realise it wasn't for us.


Complete transparency here - before I left Dubai in July 2018 after working with a recruitment firm for 2 years I was desperate for a new job. Over the course of 3 months I met and interviewed with 5 different companies - one company I actually attended 5 interviews with them. It seemed like most weeks I was going for interviews. However, for some reason nothing would land. I was so frustrated. I had all the credentials and the experience and I knew I could make money for these companies. So why wouldn't they give me a job??


In the end I was glad I didn't get a new job because I had to flee Dubai due to an absuive relationship and any new job I had got would have been wasted anyway. Leaving Dubai led me to the conclusion that I no longer wanted to work in recruitment, and I wanted to work in the fitness industry. Which led me to taking a reception job in my local gym, which led me to meeting my current partner (best relationship yet) and embarking on building my incredible business that I am so passionate about.


So, I knocked on many doors and luckily none of them opened. Then I randomly walked through exactly the right one - not just for my professional life but my personal life too.


So sometimes, if its not happening, giving up and looking in another direction isn't failure, its just accepting what is meant for you.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page